What Are You Doing With Your Life?

Interesting Perspectives on Work and Purpose

Occasionally I like to share the ideas of other people that I have found particularly inspiring or insightful, regarding a topic I may have been musing over. Is it just me, or do these little gifts from the minds of others often turn up when we need them the most?

As I flounder about with the age-old problem “What am I doing with my life?”, I would like to share with you a really interesting piece I read by Elizabeth Gilbert some time ago. Elizabeth has a very succinct and relatable way of summing up her thoughts on issues that trouble many of us, and may have us pondering how we feel about the matters in life we struggle in understanding, or expressing, or living with.

In her piece below, she very neatly describes the inherent differences between a Hobby, a Job, a Career and a Vocation. I found these incredibly helpful distinctions, enabling me to better understand the different strands of interest and action I have been pursuing in life to this point, how the energy I put towards these different facets moves me in very different ways, and how the work I do does not have to define who I am as a person. It helped me to gain a more healthy perspective on work and not just find it “an exhausting marathon, for no reason”. I hope you find it useful too.

Fascinating huh?

And just for good measure I share below an extraordinary letter I came across very recently by Hunter S. Thompson, who was asked by a friend for some advice about life and its meaning and purpose. A beautifully worded and very human perspective on “whether to float with the tide, or to swim for a goal”

Hunter S. Thompson on Finding Your Purpose

 


Copyright © 2016 · Forty and Everything After

7 thoughts on “What Are You Doing With Your Life?

  1. Incidentally, I should note, I am just sharing the cleverness of others. I only wish I could write about matters this well. But when I find things articulated so well, I feel an urge to share with anyone who cares to listen or make use of it. x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a well-timed post for me to come across. I have also heard people say not to focus on your goal as much as what type of person you need to become to achieve that goal. I guess in Hunter’s case he would probably ask if you really want to be that person. Goals goals goals – so complicated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m very glad you found it useful. I certainly found these perspectives very helpful at a quite confused time in my life. It is all too easy to get caught up in the ‘shoulds’ and the ‘coulds’ and not pay due attention to the things our souls are trying to draw us towards. This is where our true achievements may lie if only we have the courage to listen. Thanks for reading and commenting :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

