Who Am I Again? The Longest Journey In The World – The Shortest Distance Travelled

Guest piece written by Forty & Everything After

Counselling has been an absolute revelation to me. It has helped me to see how I have spent most of my adult life moving away from the young person I once was and becoming the ‘Me’ that was expected of me. Expectations from family and friends, and the influences of other people, people who had less than my best interests at heart – only their own. Counselling took me on a journey. It has been the longest journey I have ever been on (in terms of time) and the shortest ever journey (in terms of distance). I love to travel, to see the world, to expand my horizons. I had no idea that my horizons would be expanded the most by taking a journey of only a few short inches – out of my own head into my own heart.

Counselling was the key that enabled me to do this. I have written about this experience in fairy-tale form in a previous post entitled ‘The Path To Wise Counsel’. I hadn’t noticed that by trying my hardest to be the person I felt was expected of me, over time, and much reinforcement, I

Source: Who Am I Again? The Longest Journey In The World – The Shortest Distance Travelled

 


Copyright © 2016 · Words & Images · Forty and Everything After

 

 

4 thoughts on “Who Am I Again? The Longest Journey In The World – The Shortest Distance Travelled

Leave a Reply

