Ooh! An Award!

So, this morning I am writing in response to being nominated for the Fearless Blogging Award. That is very exciting indeed let me tell you. I’ve never been nominated for an award before. This ingenious little idea was the creation of Confessions of a Reborn Girl. Her blog is a delight. Endlessly positive and full of inspiration. Check out her recent series entitled “30 Days of Thankfulness” if you need a boost or a little kick up the behind to remind you of the treasures we have in our daily lives, if only we stop for a moment to honour them.

I was nominated for this award by Creating K.I.N.G.S. If you haven’t already, you should definitely pay a visit to his blog. It is a relatively new blog to me, but one that is destined to become a firm favourite. The writing is very insightful, draws you up momentarily and makes you think – a sure sign of good writing. Recent posts I have enjoyed in particular are “Praise Not To Be Given” and also the fable he shares of “The Penguin & The Snake“. Do pay this blog a visit, you’ll be glad you took the time.

It is a real thrill to me that someone has enjoyed my blog enough to nominate me. And now it is my turn to continue the process, by answering the prompt provided (see below) and nominating my own selection of Fearless Bloggers. Here goes …

 


The Rules:

  1. Include a pingback to this post when you write your award post
  2. Pass on the award to some other bloggers and let them know of your nomination!
  3. Answer the prompt in one sentence or longer

 


The Prompt:

We all have fears and insecurities. What’s a fear/insecurity that you’ve had to overcome? How did you do it? How did it impact your life afterwards?

 


My Answer:

I have written elsewhere on this blog of the impact not having children has had on my life, but one of the unanticipated outcomes was a sudden overwhelming fear, and an attached urgency, that I could now very easily come and go from this planet and leave nothing at all behind to prove I ever existed. We are already mere specs of dust in the grand cosmos of space and time, and it suddenly hit home that once I died, and my friends and family were gone too, there might very well be no-one to remember me, no-one to recount stories of the person I once was, how annoying or inspiring they may have found me in years gone by, the funny tales of stupid things I had once said or done, no proof of my being alive whatsoever. That filled me with a sadness too huge to express.

And something definitely had to be done.

Again, as I have described at some length elsewhere on this blog, I have been writing since I was a child, but out of different fears and insecurities, I hadn’t felt able to release any of this writing into the wild. My sudden panic about leaving no footprint whatsoever in history was going to have to be overcome somehow, and I was going to have to get over my one fear of exposing myself publicly in words, in order to address the other.

And so a blog was born.

And, though it is still only a very tiny spec in the enormity of this wonderful blogosphere, it is my very own little spec, I created it, and it will (I imagine) exist after I have gone – a place where I can share tales of the stupid things I have said or done, or how I have annoyed myself or others in the past.

There, I did it. My footprint. And now my footprint has been nominated for an award and this is going to create, at the very least, 30 Days of Thankfulness for me.

 


New Nominees: 

Thanks again to Confessions of a Reborn Girl for the idea and Creating K.I.N.G.S for the nomination. I definitely nominate you both as a starting point. And, in addition …

1. DiviNation

I love this blog. I comment on it regularly. It speaks to my spiritual side, my learning from life experience side, and the sharing of personal stories with a view to helping others. Monique offers a very honest window on the human condition and some useful tools and insights for easing the path. A must visit.

2. Are We There Yet?

I love to travel, and I love a great story. This blog seamlessly combines the two. Here you will find stories and photography that make you want to head to the airport with notebook in hand and camera around neck, in the hope you might be able to create a similar story all of your own. What I particularly love about this travel writer is the effort, the work that goes into his writing. The research, the history, a true travel inspiration.

3. O at the Edges

And finally (for now at least), I am going to nominate O at the Edges. This blogger, of infinitely beautiful poetry, was the first person who liked anything I had ever written on this blog – and for that I will be eternally gratefully. A perfect place of escapism and beauty – do take a look.

 


Copyright © 2016 · Forty and Everything After

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Ooh! An Award!

  1. Wow I had no idea you felt that way about your life and human existence. I don’t think I fear not leaving behind an imprint so much as not wanting to. I want to make an impact. But I’m going to do it through my writing and my voice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most of the time I wouldn’t think like that, but just occasionally, if I was feeling particularly low, perhaps on a day when I’m pulling all the blankets of fear and insignificance over my head all at once, I might suddenly feel like a gaping black hole where a person might be. Thankfully, these days, I feel that way very rarely :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

