Release & Renewal – Reflections & Wellbeing Through Writing

A Guest Piece By Forty & Everything After For Lesley Pyne 

I was contacted by Lesley Pyne recently, whose website was an absolute blessing to me, when I finally felt able to look my childlessness full in the eye.

Lesley asked if I would write a guest post for her site – which supports childless women to heal and create a life they love. She hadn’t realised when she asked me that her site was the very first place I had ever shared a piece of writing publicly. It remains the hardest writing I have ever done. The hardest story I had to tell. And it was thanks to the inspiration and support I found on her website that I found the strength to do it.

If I could tell that story, strip myself bare – not just down to the skin, but to my absolute heart – release it into the wild, perhaps I could release some of my fear and pain, confusion and grief along with it. If I can write that, I can write anything.

And here we are now, on this blog what I made – Thank you Lesley :)

“The healing power of writing has proved to be the most compelling force.

My gratitude for having found my voice in this way is unbounded. I would encourage anyone who is struggling, to try and write it down. Not necessarily to share it, but just to see it, to own it, acknowledge its worth and give yourself permission to feel what you are feeling. You have a right to feel what you are feeling, to struggle as you struggle, and nobody else gets to judge that. It is your truth. Write it down. You’ll be very glad you did”.

 

Check out the full post, and the inspirational and courageous stories shared by other women who are finding their own way through life without children on Lesley’s site:

http://www.lesleypyne.co.uk/40andeverythingafter/

 


Copyright © 2017 · Words & Images · Forty and Everything After

Leave a Reply

